On Turning 30, Part 1: Hellzapoppin’!

Young At Heart

Young At Heart

Posted by TERESA

So…on 8:26AM on Saturday, July 11th, I officially turned 30.  I celebrated a bit at Albatross the night before, where ADAM bought me drinks, I got a free one from Jocelyn, and I sang I’m the Only One to LIZ over the phone since she couldn’t come out to sing it herself.

The real celebration happened on Saturday night at Waltz-Astoria, where I had a 30’s themed birthday party complete with live jazz band karaoke!  And boy did I need a party that night….we got the bad news about Liz’s sister-in-law that morning, which of course made working on a party seem pretty meaningless.  On top of that, I had a couple of friends either call out of the party sick, or say they couldn’t make the food they said they’d make originally, or I didn’t hear if people were bringing something or not….by the time the party rolled around, I was pretty down, and worried that no one was going to show up, we’d have no food for those that would, and that the whole thing would be a huge failure.

Dorothy, Emily, Liz (behind Emily), Sebastien, Lori, and Adam

Dorothy, Emily, Liz (behind Emily), Sebastien, Lori, and Adam

That couldn’t be more different than what actually happened!  Many of my friends DID come, including several that I wasn’t expecting to see!  Liz, her sister, DOROTHY, and EMILY came despite the earlier news, because they both wanted to take their minds off it for a while, and also because they wanted to celebrate my birthday, which I thought was so sweet!  Also, my “longest-serving friend”, Vanessa, came with her boyfriend, which was a complete surprise and fabulous!  And I met someone new and really cool in KATIEBOONE’S friend Peter, who is a jazz musician himself and brought his saxophone to jam out with the band!  I had WONDERFUL food provided by ROBIN and JOANNA as well as an AMAZING Bill Compton birthday cake made by LINDSAY (who should probably go work for the Ace of Cakes people at some point!).  Just about everyone sang at least ONE song, if not several, and the staff at Waltz as well as the band commented that I had really talented friends.  They were expecting at least SOMEONE to be awful, and no one was!  What can I say?  I only HAVE talented friends!  And I realized that I am so lucky to have such amazing ones.  People who, even if they don’t know each other, are so warm and friendly that they make instant friends with everyone they meet.

Peter and the band!

Peter and the band!

Highlights:

**Robin and JEAN sang me “Happy Birthday” a la Marilyn Monroe.  It was the strangest experience ever.  But hilarious!

** ALEX, after much unnecessary protesting, sang an AMAZING rendition of “Summertime!”  He was so insecure in his singing ability that he had to be DRAGGED up there by Jean and prodded by AARON…but once he started singing, Jean couldn’t snag the microphone from his hands!  He started doing some hilarious improv, and Jean eventually left him up there to finish the song alone!  Yeah, he “hates” singing karaoke.  Uh-huh.  Best birthday present ever.  If you’re my friend on Facebook, you can probably find the video.  If not….sorry.  🙂

Bill Compton cake, Lindsay, Lori, and Me

Bill Compton cake, Lindsay, Lori, and Me

** Lindsay’s cake!  Not only was it a Bill Compton cake, but when you bit into the neck, there was cherry “blood!”  I’m so grateful that Lindsay went to so much trouble!  It was amazing.

** DANCING!  Adam deserves the credit for getting this started.  He started the ball rolling by dancing with LORI as I sang “In the Mood.”  Then he fox-trotted and swing danced with me for two numbers.  Then Emily and Lori danced.  Then Emily and I danced.  It was a great time made even greater by awesome and game people!

Let's Call the Whole Thing Off

Let's Call the Whole Thing Off

** Adam and I singing Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off.  While it wasn’t the best rendition ever, I love singing this song with him as it kind of captures our friendship perfectly.  🙂  One day, we’ll sing this song right!

** Catching up with Vanessa, and having her, EILEEN (all the way from Florida!), Joanna, and Robin all in one room!  I’ve known Vanessa since I was about 3.  I’ve known Eileen and Joanna since I was 5 going on 6.  And I’ve known Robin since I was 10.  The fact that I’m STILL friends with all of them blows my mind, and I look forward to being friends with them for even longer!

It was a wonderful way to spend my 30th Birthday.  I really am a lucky duck for knowing such great people.

And now, some photo highlights:

Alex, Katie, Jean, Matt, and Aaron

Alex, Katie, Jean, Matt, and Aaron

Emily, Liz (so badass she dragged herself to my party with a broken leg), Diana, and Sebastien

Emily, Liz (so badass she dragged herself to my party with a broken leg), Diana, and Sebastien

Robin overcame her stage fright for my birthday and sang You Can't Take That Away From Me!  It wasn't ENTIRELY miserable!

Robin overcame her stage fright for my birthday and sang You Can't Take That Away From Me! It wasn't ENTIRELY miserable!

Liz, Robin, Kelly, and Enrique

Liz, Robin, Kelly, and Enrique

Eileen, Joanna, Me, and Vanessa - my oldest friends in the world!

Eileen, Joanna, Me, and Vanessa - my oldest friends in the world!

Robin, Me, Eileen, and Joanna - Best. Entourage. Ever.

Robin, Me, Eileen, and Joanna - Best. Entourage. Ever.

The way I figured it, if my dress coudn't be strictly 1930s in style, at least my hair and my underwear could be!

The way I figured it, if my dress coudn't be strictly 1930s in style, at least my hair and my underwear could be!

My 30s are SO going to rule.  🙂

Published in: on July 28, 2009 at 9:38 PM  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://revolvingdoorcommune.wordpress.com/2009/07/28/on-turning-30-part-1-hellzapoppin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Our 30’s most def are going to rule!!!!

  2. […] CELEBRATED MY 30TH BIRTHDAY! You can read about my fabulous, 30s-themed birthday celebration here.  It was a great night, and I have to say that, so far, my thirties kind of […]

  3. […] I started writing this post at the end of last year as part of a series I’d wanted to write On Turning 30.  Then life got in the way, and I never got around to it.  However, now seems the perfect time to […]


Leave a Reply

