GIRLYMAN! (Or, How Liz Got Her Boobs Signed By a Whole Band)

Me, Liz, and Adam @ the Highline Ballroom.  How HOT are we?!

Me, Liz, and Adam @ the Highline Ballroom. How HOT are we?!

Posted by TERESA

Sorry I am SO far behind on this.  Livin’ ain’t easy – especially when you’re trying to live as much as I am! – and it’s hard to find the time to blog sometimes.  Anyway, Teresa the Celebutante Week continued on June 4th with TWO celebrity events in one evening.

No, there were no drag queens at her birthday party.

No, there were no drag queens at her birthday party.

Through a work connection, I was invited to Dr. Ruth Westheimer’s 81st birthday party!  Yes.  THAT Dr. Ruth.  🙂  It was not only a birthday party, but a book party and a screening of a new documentary she helped produce called Shifting Sands: Bedouin Women at the Crossroads.  Ruth is so full of energy and constantly buzzing around, so I could barely get “Happy Birthday!” out of my mouth before she’d moved on to the next group of minglers.  She’s kind of perfected the art of being a social butterfly!  The party itself was interesting.  It was held at the National Arts Club in NYC, a very old, very posh club on Gramercy Park South.  As I am not very old, OR very posh, it was strange to be mingling there.  There were few people anywhere near my age, and everyone – young and old alike – seemed to have much more money than me.  I spent much of the party standing in corners and drinking wine.  Eventually, I met up with a woman named Imbal that I’d met before who is friends with Ruth, close to my age, and a cellist.  We sort of latched onto each other for dear life once I reintroduced myself and navigated the party together a bit before the scheduled screening of the Shifting Sands documentary, which was pretty great.  Check it out on PBS.  (plug!)

Dr. Ruth’s party, while very nice, was really only a way to kill time until the real event of the evening – GIRLYMAN AT THE HIGHLINE BALLROOM!  Sadly, I missed the opening act, but I met Liz and Adam there just in time for the main event.

Now here is where I’ll tell you that Girlyman officially falls into The Commune Recommends territory in that 3 out of the 5 members of the house are huge fans.  Liz, Adam and I have seen them just about every time they’ve been in New York in the past two and a half years.  They are amazing musicians and vocalists, and their songs are beautiful and expressive.  Also they have some of the most fun on-stage banter ever.  Personally, my favorite album of theirs is Joyful Sign, although all of their stuff is great – and they have a NEW ALBUM COMING OUT!  Get thee to www.girlyman.com for more info! (another plug!)

Me and Doris Muramatsu of Girlyman.  She's the "Cute One!"

Me and Doris Muramatsu of Girlyman. She's the "Cute One!"

Me and Ty Greenstein of Girlyman.  She's the "Serious One!"

Me and Ty Greenstein of Girlyman. She's the "Serious One!"

But this evening wasn’t just about listening to the purdy music.  We met the band for the first time!  We felt kind of bad about doing it, because we weren’t buying anything to have signed.  However, we each already HAVE everything they had available for signing, so we didn’t feel that bad.  I’d brought my sketchbook again, and I asked each of the band members to sign a Girlyman page.  Doris was an absolute sweetheart, and very funny.  Ty was also really nice, though she seemed a bit tired.  Nate was awesome, and we actually had a nice conversation about, among other things, Amanda Palmer, as I told him I was going to see her there the very next night.  He’d heard of her and The Dresden Dolls, but hadn’t listened to much of her stuff, so I recommended it.   

Me and Nate Borofsky of Girlyman.  He's "The One With a Penis!"

Me and Nate Borofsky of Girlyman. He's "The One With a Penis!"

Adam just shook everyone’s hand and expressed his admiration in his typically understated, Midwestern way.  The funniest HAD to be Liz. She, almost jokingly, asked Doris to sign her boobs.  Doris, the straight one, got REALLY excited about it, funnily enough, and shouted to her bandmates, “Hey guys!  We’ve got a boob signing over here!”  Check out the excitement on her face:

I don't know who's happier about this - Doris, or Liz!

I don't know who's happier about this - Doris, or Liz!

And then there was the moment When Liz Met Ty.  Let me explain something to you.  Liz likes Ty.  A LOT.  Liz likes Ty in her secret, naughty places.  Liz was severely restraining herself so as not to JUMP Ty, and as Ty signed her chest, their exchange went something like this:

Ty: Hey, nice to meet you!

Liz: NNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGEEEEHHHHHHHHH….

Ty: Signing breasts, are we?  What’s your name?

Liz: LLLLDDNNNDNNNNNEDEEEDGGGGHHHH….

Ty: There you go!

Liz: *bouncy* *bouncy* *bouncy*

And that was that.  We’d met one of our favorite bands and rode that high all the way home.  Actually, Liz bounced home on big, horny cloud.

The Finished Product

The Finished Product

I might as well have set up a cot at the Highline Ballroom after that, because I’d be going there again the following night to see Amanda Palmer.  Details to come…

Published in: on July 1, 2009 at 10:19 PM  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://revolvingdoorcommune.wordpress.com/2009/07/01/girlyman-or-how-liz-got-her-boobs-signed-by-a-whole-band/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That sounded like a fun night. More for Liz than the rest of you.

    Your writing is good. A little gnome gave me some of your stuff to read to do a favor for her. Not to shabby lady.

  2. Thank you! 🙂 It’s funny, I write a lot of this blog (not all of it, mind you, but a lot of it!)and it still amazes me when I get comments letting me know that people are actually reading this and thinking thoughts about what I write… I wonder if I’ll ever get used to that? 🙂

    Thanks again! And I hope you keep stopping by!


Leave a Reply

