A Happy Writer’s Life

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted by TERESA

It feels as though the Universe is telling me that I’m on the right path with this whole writing business.

  • I finished a rough draft of a short story of which I’m really, really proud.  What’s more, I’ve given it to a few trusted beta readers for feedback, and one of my friends whose writing talent and insight I respect immensely enjoyed it (even though I wasn’t sure that the genre would be her cup of tea), and gave me critiques that I’d already suspected I’d need to make, leading me to believe that I wasn’t too far off the mark.  I’m even more excited about the story now that I’ve begun revisions.
  • I’ve entered the Creative Writing Championships at NYCMidnight.com.  It’s a competition for writing flash fiction (1,000 words or less).  I’ve been meaning to enter their Short Story Challenge in years past, but I never have.  I’ll use the flash fiction competition as a warm-up for the next Short Story Challenge!  Who knows?  It might yield something worthwhile.  At the very least, I’ll keep the writing muscles in shape.  Should be fun!  Also, there are cash prizes.  If no one will pay me to publish my stories, maybe someone will pay me because I’m better than other people in a competition scenario!
  • Last, but most certainly not least, Adam sent me a link to a wonderful article that he says made him think of me.  It’s on Chelsea Summers’ Pretty Dumb Things blog: “Write On.  A Status Report

Reading that blog post reminded me why I’m doing what I’m doing every day, why I gave up auditioning, why I write for Pink Raygun, why I’ve sought out more free writing to do, and why I can’t ever seem to give up blogging.  I’m a writer.  One day (soon), it will be the way in which I make my living.  That’s just the way it is.

Published in: on May 12, 2009 at 11:35 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://revolvingdoorcommune.wordpress.com/2009/05/12/a-happy-writers-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

